Sobre a Revista

Focus and Scope

Clinical and Biomedical Research (CBR), formerly “Revista HCPA”, is a scientific publication from Hospital de Clínicas de Porto Alegre (HCPA) and the School of Medicine of Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (FAMED/UFRGS).

It is a free access scientific periodic that aims to publish papers from all relevant areas in the Health Sciences, including clinics and basic research. The selection criteria for publication include originality, the relevance of the theme, methodological quality, and adequacy to the journals’ editorial norms.

Peer Review Process

All manuscripts will be evaluated by the Chief Editor and/or Associate Editors and according to the initial assessment will be examined by two referees with expertise in the field.

Manuscripts are revised in a double-blind fashion.

Publication Frequency


Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Web Portals

Periódicos CAPES
Portal de Revistas Científicas em Ciências da Saúde (BVS)
Periódicos Científicos (UFRGS)

Journal History

Clinical and Biomedical Research (CBR) is a scholarly open access, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to publishing original research, review articles, and case reports in all fields of medicine, including basic research. CBR is published using the open access publication model, with the distinction that it is COMPLETELY FREE OF ARTICLE PROCESSING CHARGES. It means that all interested readers will be able to freely access the journal online without the need for a subscription, and authors have NO CHARGES to publish their research in the journal.
CBR (e-ISSN 2357-9730) is the former Revista HCPA (ISSN 01015575), a 37 year-old scientific publication of the Hospital de Clinicas de Porto Alegre and School of Medicine of Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul.

Past Editors

Prof. Nilo Milano Galvão - 1981 a 1985
Prof. Sérgio Menna Barreto - 1986 a 1992
Prof. Luiz Lavinsky - 1993 a 1996
Prof. Eduardo Pandolfi Passos - 1997 a 2003
Profª. Sandra Pinho Silveiro - 2004 a 2010
Prof. Francisco José Veríssimo Veronese - 2011 a 2012
Prof. Alexandre Prehn Zavascki - 2013 a 2015